Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

SEC Faculty Travel Program Participants Announced

By: Bryant Welbourne, SECU 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – More than 100 faculty members from all 14 Southeastern Conference universities will take part in the 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program, the league office announced Thursday. The program, in its sixth year, provides support for selected individuals to collaborate with colleagues at other SEC member institutions.

“As a researcher, it’s great to know that the SEC is behind us and supports what we want to do,” said Dr. Susan Loveall-Hague, Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders at the University of Mississippi and former program participant.

Through the program, the SEC provides financial assistance for its faculty members to travel to other SEC universities to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, conduct research and deliver lectures or performances.

“The SEC Faculty Travel Program has been a tremendous resource for faculty at universities across the SEC,” said Dr. Ellen Reames, Associate Professor at Auburn University and former program participant. “It gives us the opportunity to work with colleagues in our field of study throughout the region. It is a very powerful tool for SEC universities.”

Program participants from each SEC university will travel throughout the academic year, and disciplines represented include engineering, marine biology, political science, and linguistics, among others.

The SEC Faculty Travel Program is administered by SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. The SEC supports and promotes the academic endeavors of the students and faculty at its 14 member institutions.

View the full list of 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program participants.

UofSC SEC Faculty Travel Participants


Lara Lomicka Anderson



William Brown

Education Studies


Janet Hopkins



Bryan Love



 Fabio Matta



 Franklin Outten



 Armen Shaomian


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.