Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Call for Faculty Award nominations

The 2019-20 Faculty Awards Nomination and Review Process is now open. Information about all the awards are below as well as links to the full description of the award, deadlines and the nomination process. 

The nomination form is due by the nomination deadline. Some awards require additional materials and those are due by Feb. 7, 2020. Supporting materials can be emailed or submitted via campus mail to: Osborne Administration Building, Ste. 102. 

Please note that each award is a one-time career award and former winners are not eligible for re-nomination for the same award.  This does not preclude past winner nominations for different faculty awards. 

Coyet Greene is available to answer any questions about the awards or the nomination process. 

Ada B. Thomas Outstanding Advisor Award

The Ada B. Thomas Outstanding Faculty/Staff Advisor awards recognize one faculty and one staff member each year who offer quality advising to undergraduate students. 

Carolina Trustees Professorship

The Carolina Trustees Professorship awards are presented to faculty who are committed to teaching excellence in any phase of the university's educational mission. 

Clinical Teaching Award

Each year the University of South Carolina recognizes two faculty members for outstanding clinical teaching, practice, advising and mentoring of health science students. 

Garnet Apple Award for Teaching Innovation

This annual award honors the University of South Carolina’s most exceptional faculty who demonstrate an ongoing commitment to best teaching practices and an ongoing record of developing innovative strategies to enhance student learning in their courses.

Mungo Distinguished Professor of the Year Award

The Michael J. Mungo Distinguished Professor of the Year award is the University of South Carolina's most prestigious award presented annually to an outstanding teacher of undergraduate studies.

Mungo Teaching Awards

The Michael J. Mungo Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching awards are awarded to innovative professors committed to good teaching.

Russell Research and USC Educational Foundation Awards

The Russell Research Award was established by Judge Donald S. Russell in 1957 and the USC Educational Foundation Research Award was established in 1984 torecognize faculty for outstanding research and scholarship.

USC Educational FoundationOutstanding Service Award

The USC Educational Foundation Service award is the university's most prestigious award for professional, campus and community service by a faculty member. 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.