Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

Department of History

Our People

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Ames, Christine Caldwell Professor 803-777-2734 amesc@sc.edu History
Staff Antonucci, Ryan J. Graduate Student PhD in US History antonucr@email.sc.edu History
Staff Atkinson, Ron Emeritus Faculty Atkinson.uganda@gmail.com History
Staff Augustinos, Gerasimos Emeritus Faculty augustg@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Basil, John D. Emeritus Faculty basil@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Berns, Andrew Associate Professor 803-777-4216 aberns@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Brown, Chuck Information Resource Consultant 803-777-5195 Cebrown@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Brown, Thomas J. Professor 803-777-2341 TJBrown@sc.edu History
Staff Carey, Lori Department Coordinator 803-777-5195 Vannl@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Carter, Dan T. Emeritus Faculty carterdt@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Childs, Matt D. Associate Professor Director Graduate Studies Program 803-777-3189 childsmd@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Clements, Kendrick A. Emeritus Faculty clements@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Coenen Snyder, Saskia Associate Professor 803-777-7472 SaskiaCS@sc.edu History
Staff Cutrona, Caitlin Graduate Student MA-Public History ccutrona@email.sc.edu History
Staff Develvis, Melissa Graduate Student PhD Candidate in the Nineteenth-Century U.S. South develvis@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Donaldson, Bobby J. Associate Professor 803-777-6282 BDonaldson@sc.edu History
Faculty Doyle, Don H. Emeritus Faculty 803-777-6068 don.doyle@sc.edu History
Faculty Eatmon, Myisha S. Research Fellow History
Faculty Edgar, Walter Emeritus faculty w.edgar@sc.edu History
Faculty Edwards, Kathryn Professor 803-777-7326 kathrynedwards@sc.edu History
Faculty Elfenbein, Jessica Department Chair Professor 803-777-3282 jessicae@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Eliot, Lewis Graduate Student PhD, History leliot@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Ford, Lacy K., Jr. Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Professor 803-777-9939 Ford@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Found, Jill Graduate Student B.A. in History jfound@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Germany, Kent Professor 803-777-9587 Germany@sc.edu History
Faculty Grace, Josh Assistant Professor 803-777-2679 gracejr@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Harrison, Carol E. Professor 803-777-6107 ceharris@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Hendricks, Wanda A. Distinguished Professor Emerita 803-777-2184 HendricW@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Hinderliter, Jillian Graduate Student PhD (U.S. History since 1789) History
Faculty Holton, Woody Professor 803-777-7611 aholton@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Hull, W. Marclane Graduate Student BA in History & Economics whull@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Johnson, Paul E. Emeritus Faculty pejohnson757@gmail.com History
Faculty Kinzley, W. Dean Professor Emeritus Dean-Kinzley@SC.EDU History
Faculty Kross, Jessica Emeritus Faculty kross@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Kuenzli, E. Gabrielle Associate Professor 803-777-2872 kuenzli@sc.edu History
Faculty Lekan, Thomas Professor, History Associate Professor, Earth, Ocean & Environment 803-777-5928 lekan@sc.edu History; Earth, Ocean & Environment College of Arts and Sciences
Faculty Littlefield, Daniel C. Emeritus Faculty 803-777-0810 LittleDC@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Littlefield, Valinda Associate Professor 803-777-2747 LittleVW@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty MacKenzie, S. P. Professor 803-777-5195 Simon-Mackenzie@sc.edu History
Faculty Marsh, Allison Associate Professor 803-777-0041 MarshA@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Martin, Emily Graduate Student MA Public History; PhD History History
Faculty Maskiell, Nicole Assistant Professor 803-777-5195 Maskiell@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Mayes, Josh Graduate Student PhD (18th Century American History) jm48@email.sc.edu History
Staff Mcnamara, Tyler Undergraduate Student Coordinator 803-576-5512 Mcnamart@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Melton, Jennifer Graduate MA, Public History jm44@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Melvin-Koushki, Matthew Assistant Professor Peter and Bonnie McCausland Fellow of History 803-777-2905 mmelvink@sc.edu History
Faculty Miller, Page Putnam millerpp@gwm.sc.edu History
Faculty November, Joseph A. Associate Professor 803-777-5152 november@sc.edu History
Faculty Osokina, Elena Professor 803-777-4578 osokina@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Patel, Dinyar Assistant Professor 803-777-5195 Pateldi@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Patterson, Robert B. Professor Emeritus pattsn@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Perkins, Kenneth J. Emeritus Faculty perkins@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Peters, Kenneth E. peters@gwm.sc.edu History
Staff Polite, Don S, Jr. Graduate Student PhD (Latin American and Caribbean History) politejr@email.sc.edu History
Staff Pope, A. Kamau Graduate Student MA, History pope5@email.sc.edu History
Staff Pou, Jay Director of Student Services 803-777-4492 Pouj@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Risk, James Instructor 803-777-9194 RISK@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Robertson, Cherare Business Manager 803-777-4503 Rober243@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Robinson, Maurice Graduate Student PhD, U.S. History mauricer@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Scardaville, Michael scardavm@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Schor, Adam M. Associate Professor 803-777-1690 schor@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Schulz, Constance B. schulz@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Sklaroff, Lauren Professor 803-576-5817 sklaroff@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Smith, Mark M. Carolina Distinguished Professor of History 803-777-6362 Mark-Smith@sc.edu History
Faculty Smith, Michael S. Emeritus Faculty smithm@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Snyder, David J. Clinical Associate Professor of History and Global Studies U.S. Foreign Relations 803-777-6394 DJSnyder1@sc.edu History
Faculty Spruill, Marjorie J. Emeritus Professor 803-777-2927 marjorie.spruill@sc.edu History
Staff Steiner, Madeline Graduate Student PhD (U.S. History since 1789) steinem@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Sullivan, Patricia A. Professor 803-777-2766 Psulliv@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Synnott, Marcia G. Emeritus Faculty synnott@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Terrill, Thomas E. Emeritus Faculty terrill@mailbox.sc.edu History
Staff Thompson, Hannah N. Graduate Student MA-Public History, Museum Studies hannahnt@email.sc.edu History
Staff Turnmire, Rebekah Graduate Student PhD with Public History Field (US History since 1789) hjfloyd@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Varlik, Nukhet Associate Professor History
Staff Weaver, Paige Graduate Student PhD (United States History to 1877) & MA (Public History, Museums) pweaver@email.sc.edu History
Faculty Weir, Robert M. Emeritus Faculty weir@mailbox.sc.edu History
Faculty Weyeneth, Robert R. Professor 803-777-6398 weyeneth@sc.edu History
Faculty Wilder, Colin Assistant Professor and Co-Director of the Center for Digital Humanities 803-777-5195 Wildercf@mailbox.sc.edu Wilder History
Faculty Wilson, Clyde N. History
Staff Young, Rachel Graduate Student MA Public History / MLIS Dual Degree rachely@email.sc.edu History

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©