Skip to Content

University Registrar

  • graduates at Cocky statue

Deadline Dates

Review the deadlines below to ensure you are on track with your graduation application and informed about your commencement ceremony.

Graduation and Commencement Deadlines

 

Current and Future Semesters

Fall 2020 Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Fall 2020 Aug. 17, Monday
Graduation application deadline for students who wish to graduate in Fall 2020 and participate in the Bachelor’s, Master’s and Professional Commencement Ceremony held on the Columbia campus either virtual or in-person and be listed in the commencement program; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate. Sept. 21, Monday
Late Walk request deadline for Columbia campus students whose Summer degrees have been awarded; complete the Request to Participate in Commencement Late Form Sept. 21, Monday
Degree candidacy approval deadline for Columbia campus colleges Oct. 12, Monday
Name Pronunciation for Commencement Available
Let us know how you would like your name announced at commencement. 
Oct. 14, Wednesday - Nov. 8, Sunday
Possible Honors Distributed to Colleges
Only grades entered on or before this date will be reflected
Oct. 23, Friday
Commencement Program Sent to Printer - degree candidates who submit their graduation application after this date will not have their name included in the program Oct. 23, Friday
Commencement Ceremonies in Columbia Dec. 13, Sunday
Transient transcripts and CLEP scores posted to student record Varies by College (allow five business days for processing)
Campuses and colleges have approved or disapproved all Fall 2020 degree candidates On or before Jan. 22, 2021, Friday
Grade Forgiveness – deadline for graduating students to submit application On or before Jan. 22, 2021, Friday
Diplomas Mailed On or before March 15, 2021, Monday

 

Spring 2021 Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Spring 2021 Dec. 15, Tuesday
Graduation application deadline for students who wish to graduate in Spring 2021 and participate in the Bachelor’s, Master’s and Professional Commencement Ceremony held on the Columbia campus either virtual or in-person and be listed in the commencement program; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate. Feb. 15, Monday
Late Walk request deadline for Columbia campus students whose Fall degrees have been awarded; complete the Request to Participate in Commencement Late Form Feb. 15, Monday
Degree candidacy approval deadline for Columbia campus colleges March 15, Monday
Name Pronunciation for Commencement Available
Let us know how you would like your name announced at commencement.
March 15, Monday – April 5, Monday
Possible Honors Distributed to Colleges
Only grades entered on or before this date will be reflected
March 26, Friday
Commencement Program Sent to Printer - degree candidates who submit their graduation application after this date will not have their name included in the program March 26, Friday
Commencement Ceremonies in Columbia May 7, Friday  and May 8, Saturday
Transient transcripts and CLEP scores posted to student record Varies by College (allow five business days for processing)
Campuses and colleges have approved or disapproved all Spring 2021 degree candidates On or before June 11, 2021, Friday
Diplomas Mailed On or before Aug. 16, 2021, Monday

 

Previous Semesters

Summer 2020 Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Summer 2020 May 11, Monday - June 28, Sunday
Graduation application deadline for Columbia campus undergraduate students who wish to graduate in Summer 2020; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate June 28, Sunday
Degree candidacy approval deadline for Columbia campus colleges (optional) July 31, Friday
Window for awarding Summer degrees Aug. 7, Friday - Sept. 11, Friday
Campuses and colleges have approved or disapproved all Summer 2020 degree candidates On or before Sept. 14, Monday
Diplomas Mailed On or before Nov. 13, Friday

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©