Skip to Content

University Registrar

  • graduates at Cocky statue

Deadline Dates

Review the deadlines below to ensure you are on track with your graduation application and informed about your commencement ceremony.

Graduation and Commencement Deadlines

 

Current and Future Semesters 

Fall 2023 Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Fall 2023 Aug. 16, Wednesday
Graduation application deadline for students who wish to graduate in Fall 2023 and participate in the Bachelor’s, Master’s and Professional Commencement Ceremony held on the Columbia campus and be listed in the commencement program; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate. Sept. 22, Friday
Degree candidacy approval* deadline for Columbia campus colleges *this step is optional Oct. 9, Monday
Name Pronunciation for Commencement Available
Let us know how you would like your name announced at commencement.
Sept. 27, Wednesday - Nov. 13, Monday
Guest Ticketing - Students who are approved to participate in the Fall 2023 Bachelor's, Master's and Professional Commencement Ceremony will be invited to claim up to 5 guest tickets.  TBD
Possible Honors Distributed to Colleges
Only grades entered before this date will be reflected
Oct. 30, Monday
Degree Candidate Names Finalized for Commencement Program - degree candidates who submit their graduation application after this date will not have their name included in the program Oct. 30, Monday
Additional Guest Tickets - If tickets are still available, students may be able to request 2 to 3 additional guest tickets. TBD
Commencement Ceremonies in Columbia Dec. 18, Monday
Transient transcripts and CLEP scores posted to student record Varies by College (allow five business days for processing)
Window for awarding Fall degrees Dec. 18, 2023, Monday - Jan. 26, 2024, Friday
Campuses and colleges have approved or disapproved all Fall 2023 degree candidates On or before Jan. 26, 2024, Friday
Semester honors and Final Latin honors will run (only grades entered before this date will be reflected) Jan. 31, 2024, Wednesday
Diplomas Mailed On or before March 19, 2024, Tuesday

Previous Semesters

Summer 2023 Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Summer 2023 May 8, Monday

Graduation application deadline for Columbia campus undergraduate students who wish to graduate in Summer 2023; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate.

July 17, Monday
Degree candidacy approval deadline for Columbia campus colleges (optional) Aug. 4, Friday
Window for awarding Summer degrees Aug. 4, Friday - Sept. 8, Friday
Campuses and colleges have approved or disapproved all Summer 2023 degree candidates Sept. 8, Friday
Semester honors and Final Latin honors will run  (only grades entered before this date will be reflected) Sept. 13, Wednesday
Diplomas Mailed On or before Nov. 10, Friday
Spring 2023 Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Spring 2023 Dec. 13, Tuesday
Graduation application deadline for students who wish to graduate in Spring 2023 and participate in the Bachelor’s, Master’s and Professional Commencement Ceremony held on the Columbia campus and be listed in the commencement program; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate. March 10, Friday
Degree candidacy approval* deadline for Columbia campus colleges *this step is optional March 13, Monday
Name Pronunciation for Commencement Available
Let us know how you would like your name announced at commencement.
March 14, Tuesday – April 4, Tuesday

Guest Ticketing - Students who are approved to participate in the Spring 2023 Bachelor's, Master's and Professional Commencement Ceremony will be invited to claim up to 5 guest tickets. 

March 20, Monday – April 10, Monday

Possible Honors Distributed to Colleges
Only grades entered before this date will be reflected

March 23, Thursday

Degree Candidate Names Finalized for Commencement Program - degree candidates who submit their graduation application after this date will not have their name included in the program

March 23, Thursday

Additional Guest Tickets - If tickets are still available, students may be able to request 2 to 3 additional guest tickets.

April 17, Monday – April 24, Monday
Commencement Ceremonies in Columbia May 5, Friday and May 6, Saturday
Transient transcripts and CLEP scores posted to student record Varies by College (allow five business days for processing)
Campuses and colleges have approved or disapproved all Spring 2023 degree candidates On or before June 9, Friday
Semester honors and Final Latin honors will run (only grades entered before this date will be reflected) June 14, Wednesday
Diplomas Mailed On or before Aug. 7, Monday

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©