Skip to Content

South Carolina Honors College

Pearce Faculty Fellows

The Faculty Fellows for the Honors College, who are appointed by the provost, are tenured/tenure-track faculty with outstanding records of teaching, research and service. 

Our Fellows

The Pearce Faculty Fellows are a vital and unique part of the Honors College family. Besides teaching, cultivating and developing Honors courses, they mentor our students, participate in the national fellowships process and advise the dean on Honors matters. Half of their teaching and half of their service are assigned to the Honors College for the duration of their two-year appointments.

Demetrius Abshire, Biobehavioral Health and Nursing Science
David Barbeau, Earth, Ocean and Environment
Judith Kalb, Russian, Language, Literature and Cultures
Leigh Moscowitz, Journalism and Mass Communications
Anna Smartwood House, Art History
Frank Thorne, Mathematics

The Pearce Family

The Pearce Faculty Fellows are named in honor of James T. Pearce, a 1942 UofSC graduate and a lifelong supporter of the university. The gift bestowed by his daughter Ellis Pearce has helped create and grow the fellows program into an integral part of the South Carolina Honors College. 

“With the establishment of the James T. Pearce Honors College Faculty Fellows Endowment, the vision is to bring it all full circle by enhancing the salaries of and securing the best and brightest Honors College teachers for our best and brightest Honors College students," said Ellis Pearce. 

The generous gift from the Pearce family allows our fellows to provide incredible enrichment and support for our students, and we are grateful for their patronage and continued investment in the South Carolina Honors College. 

Read more about the Pearce family and their commitment to the Honors College. 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.