Skip to Content

My Arts and Sciences

College Committees

The College of Arts and Sciences has established a number of committees to advise the Office of the Dean and encourage collaborative participation among faculty,  staff, and administrators.  Additionally, elected faculty from each CAS academic unit represent the college in the university's Faculty Senate.

APCG members meet four times per year and provide advice to the Dean’s Office on a variety of issues related to academic planning for the future as well as curriculum planning, including enhancing interdisciplinarity, new degree programs, and curriculum innovation. This group works with the dean and associate deans to enhance the educational quality of our academic offerings.

Membership consists of one elected faculty member per department and academic program.

  • Deena Isom-Scott, African-American Studies
  • Edward Gieskes, English
  • Lauren Steimer, Film and Media Studies
  • Jerry Mitchell, Geography
  • Agnes Mueller, Global Studies
  • Allison Marsh, History
  • Douglas Meade, Mathematics
  • Justin Weinberg, Philosophy
  • Brett Altschul, Physics and Astronomy
  • Katherine Barbieri, Political Science
  • Marko Geslani, Religious Studies
  • David Barbeau, School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
  • Matthew Simmons, Southern Studies
  • Tracey Gunter, Statistics
  • Tanya Wideman-Davis, Theatre and Dance
  • Judith Kalb, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
  • Leslie Lovelace, Chemistry and Biochemistry

The Dean’s Advisory Group (DAG) consists of tenure-track faculty, professional faculty, and staff across the disciplines within the College of Arts and Sciences.  Each member is appointed for a 1-year term and meets four times per year with the dean.  DAG works with the dean to advise the Dean on a variety of issues pertinent to the College’s goals. The focus for this year will be on “big ideas” and directions for the CAS over the next five years.

2023-2024 Dean’s Advisory Group
  • Joel H. Samuels, Dean
  • Kate Flory, Professor - Psychology
  • Andrew Graciano, Professor - SVAD
  • Yvonne Ivory, Associate Professor - LLC
  • Leslie Lovelace, Instructor - Chemistry
  • Fabienne Poulain, Assistant Professor - Biological Sciences
  • Beth Powell, Staff - Physics and Astronomy
  • Ronda Sanders, Senior Instructor - Statistics
  • Mark Smith, Professor - History
  • Eric Tappa, Staff - SEOE

The Distributed Learning (DL) Advisory Board consists of tenure-track and professional faculty from the college’s departments and programs, as well as representatives from the dean’s office. The group provides the dean’s office and college with recommendations and best practice guidelines for online course and program development.

The following members are serving in the first 2-year term on the CAS DL Advisory Board:

  • Kim Simmons, African American Studies
  • Andy Schumpert, Biological Sciences
  • Amy Taylor Perry, Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Hayden Smith, Criminology & Criminal Justice
  • Patrick J. Gehrke, English Language & Lit / SPCH
  • Lauren Steimer, Film and Media Studies
  • Jean Ellis, Geography
  • Allison Marsh, History
  • Alanna Breen, Languages, Lit & Cultures
  • Matt Boylan, Mathematics
  • Matthew Wilson, Political Science
  • Jessica Green, Psychology
  • Beth Myers, Psychology
  • Sara Schneckloth, School of Visual Art & Design
  • Hanne van der Iest (Co-Chair), Sociology
  • Brian Habing, Statistics,
  • Stephanie Milling, Theatre & Dance
  • Dawn Campbell, Women's and Gender Studies
  • Claudia Benitez-Nelson, CAS Dean’s Office
  • Christy Friend, CAS Dean’s Office
  • Lydia Frass, CAS Dean’s Office

The Faculty Budget Committeeadvises the Dean on budget and resource allocation policies affecting curriculum, instruction, research, and staffing within the College of Arts and Sciences in order to ensure overall strategic alignment. The committee will be convened by the Dean during the academic year as dictated by the College’s budget processes and, when necessary, provide additional advice to the Dean on other financial matters.

  • Todd Shaw (Chair), Political Science
  • Jessica Barnes, School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment
  • Carol Boggs, School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment
  • Brian Glavey, English
  • Meena Khalili, School of Visual Art and Design
  • Ron Prinz, Psychology
  • Tom Vogt, Chemistry and Biochemistry

The Faculty Senate is a governing body established by the Board of Trustees with representative faculty members selected by each college or school. Senators are elected for a three-year term in the spring, with the term beginning with the fall semester.  Every faculty member has the right to attend and address the senate, but only senators may vote.

 Aerospace Studies
(See Naval Science)

David Simmons (2024)

Biological Sciences
Joshua Stone (2023)
Kristy Welshhans (2023)
Mingli Xu (2023)
Melissa Ellermann (2024)

Chemistry & Biochemistry
John Lavigne (2023)
Hui Wang (2023)
Morgan Stefik (2024)

Criminology and Criminal Justice

Michael Dowdy (2024)
Ed Madden (2023)
Hannah Rule (2023)
Rebecca Stern (2023)
Mark Minett (2024)

Caroline Nagel (2024)

Kent Germany (2023)
Carol Harrison (2024)

Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Jason Osborne (2023)
Parrish Wright (2024)
Ashley Williard (2024)

Frank Thorne (2023)
Changhui Tan (2023)
Daniel Dix (2024)

Military Science (Army)
(See Naval Science)

Naval Science
Captain John Compton (2024)

Kathryn Lindeman (2024)

Physics & Astronomy
Brett Altschul (2023)
Milind Kunchur (2023)

Political Science
Kirk Randazzo (2023)
Katherine Barbieri (2024)

Amanda Fairchild (2023)
Scott Huebner (2023)

Religious Studies
Noah Gardiner (2023)

Andrea Henderson (2024)

Tracey Gunter (2024)

Theatre & Dance
Kristy Hall (2024)

School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
Bill Stronsnider (2023)
Katherine Ryker (2023)
Erin Meyer-Gutbrod (2023)

School of Visual Art & Design
Carleen Maur (2023)
Dawn Hunter (2024)

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.