Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

College of Engineering and Computing

Our Leadership

Led by the dean of the college, our leadership team includes an experienced group of talented professors representing all areas of our engineering expertise.

Dean of the College

Dean Haj-Hariri

Dr. Hossein Haj-Hariri

Haj-Hariri, an MIT-trained scientist who most recently served as professor and chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, was appointed dean January 2016. Haj-Hariri will spearhead efforts to build on the university’s strength in critical research areas such as energy, cyber security, aerospace and materials.


Associate Deans

Jed S. Lyons: Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Professor, Mechanical Engineering

M. Hanif Chaudhry: Associate Dean for International Programs and Continuing Education; Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Michael A. Matthews: Senior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education; Professor, Chemical Engineering

Abdel Bayoumi: Associate Dean for Corporate Relations, Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Csilla Farkas: Associate Dean for Diversity, Engagement and Inclusion; Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Paul Ziehl: Associate Dean for Research; Civil and Environmental Engineering

Ruth Patterson: Assistant Dean for Student Services


Academic Program Chairs and Directors

Sang Hee Won: Aerospace Engineering, interim program director

Melissa Moss: Chemical Engineering, interim chair; Biomedical Engineering, program director

Juan M. Caicedo: Civil and Environmental Engineering, chair

Matt Thatcher: Computer Science and Engineering, chair

Roger A. Dougal: Electrical Engineering, chair

M. Hanif Chaudhry: Engineering Management, program director

Ehsan Jabbarzadeh: Entrepreneurial Engineering, program director

Elizabeth ReganIntegrated Information Technology, chair

Jamil A. Khan: Mechanical Engineering, chair

Travis Knight: Nuclear Engineering, program director

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.