USC Main Southern Interscholastic Press Association
About SIPA
Mail In Contests
endowment photo

SIPA Endowment

The SIPA Endowment was established September 14, 1994. Its purpose is

  • to provide financial security for future annual convention costs.
  • to offer scholarships to students and advisers to attend SIPA conventions and Carolina Journalism Institutes.
  • to support advisers in the Southern region with mentors through a national journalism program.
  • to offer college scholarships to outstanding scholastic journalism students.
  • to expose students and adviser to state-of-the-art instructors.
  • to support publications and/or programs through technology grants.

Ways to Donate:

  • Lifetime Membership - $500. Advantages of Lifetime Memberships: (1) they stay with advisers who change schools; (2) all publications under a lifetime member have free memberships; (3) all Lifetime Memberships fees go directly to the SIPA Endowment. To purchase a lifetime membership, sign up through the membership form!
  • Adviser Recognitions - Current or former students may choose to donate money to honor their adviser (present or past).
  • In Honor - Donations made in honor of living individuals or staffs who have made a difference
  • In Memory - Donations made in memory of a loved one
  • SIPA Auction - Each year advisers attending the convention enjoy an auction to raise money for the endowment. Even if you can't attend the auction you can donate gifts and items to be sold.

All lifetime members, adviser recognitions and in honor and in memory of honorees are printed in the SIPA program, put on a plaque that hangs in the SIPA office and can be found online.

SIPA Endowment Committee:

  • Co-chairs: Marilyn Chapman (Florence, S.C.) and Mary Inglis (Wellington, Fla.)
  • Committee Members:
    Beth Dickey (Columbia, S.C.)
    Chris Floore (Macon, Ga.)
    Deborah Gascon, Dutch Fork HS (Irmo, S.C.)
    Brenda Gorsuch, West Henderson HS (Hendersonville, N.C.)
    Melanie Huynh-Duc, Northwest Guilford HS (
    Greensboro, S.C.)
    Amy Medlock-Greene, Dutch Fork HS (Irmo, S.C.)
    Kay Phillips (Henderson, N.C.)
    Jenny Proctor, Richland Northeast HS (Columbia, S.C.)
    Martha Rothwell (Statesville, N.C.)

SIPA Lifetime Members:
  • Yvonne Allen
  • Robert Atwood
  • Vanessa Bump
  • Brian Cole
  • Sylvia Daughtry
  • Lisa Dean
  • Karen Flowers
  • Coni Grebel
  • Steve Hanf
  • Heather Hanks
  • Erinn Harris
  • Tara Hays
  • Tressie Hays
  • Ken Henderson
  • Melanie Huynh-Duc
  • Valerie Kibler
  • Steve Lindgren
  • Dr. Grady Locklear
  • Deanna Martin
  • Deborah Mayer
  • Chris McDonald
  • Rik McNeill
  • Amy Medlock-Greene
  • Melonie Menefee
  • Lance Morrison
  • Betty Morton
  • Louisa Ogle
  • Lori Oglesbee
  • Betsy Owen
  • Kay Phillips
  • David Ragsdale
  • Shawn Risener
  • Martha Rothwell
  • Al Scroggins
  • Michelle Sisson
  • Greg Spoon
  • Stephanie Stone
  • Beth Ward
  • Chris Waugaman
  • David Webb
  • Rae Weinstein

Adviser Recognitions:

  • Alberta Abercrombie
  • Helen Browne
  • Hope Carroll
  • Lynne Collins
  • Sylvia Daughtry
  • Karen Flowers
  • Mary Inglis
  • Alice James
  • Marianne King
  • Dr. J. Grady Locklear
  • Shirley Moravec
  • Lori Oglesbee
  • Betsy Owen
  • Kay Phillips
  • Herb Sirota
  • Bruce Watterson

In Honor Of:

  • Andy Bosman
  • Lewis G. Brierley
  • Catherine Bouknight Brown
  • Sylvia Daughtry & Joe Brown
  • Morris Dees
  • Gary Dickey
  • Karen Flowers
  • Melanie Huynh-Duc and Northwest Horizons staff
  • Irmo HS Stinger Staff (1999-2000)
  • Debbie Jacobs
  • Sergei and Valentina Korol
  • Susan Morton Leonard
  • Chris McDonald
  • Martha Rothwell

In Memory Of:

  • Margery O. Anderson - mother of Derek & Andrew Anderson
  • Mary "Jody" Bible - mother of Donna Bible Johnson, friend of SIPA
  • Billy Joe Breedlove - father of Chris McDonald
  • Dr. Regis Louise Boyle - Walt Whitman HS adviser (Md.) & SIPA Board Member
  • Joe Brown - father of Beth Dickey
  • Betty B. Cain - grandmother of Alison Shuman
  • Keith Conrad - father of Marilyn Chapman
  • Walter Dennis - father of Joe Dennis
  • Grace Ellis Douglass - mother of Kay Phillips
  • Leland Douglass - father of Kay Phillips
  • Richard Fitz - former adviser of The Haliscope
  • George and Helen Flowers - in-laws of Karen Flowers
  • Debbie Garris - administrative assistant to the director of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications and friend to Scholastic Journalism
  • Ruth Kissiah Hall - mother of Martha Rothwell
  • Beth Hammond - former adviser of The Laureate
  • Elizabeth B. Hudson - mother of Karen Flowers
  • James Nathan Hudson - father of Karen Flowers
  • Clara Mae Jacobs - mother of Sylvia Daughtry-Brown
  • Lawrence E. Jacobs - brother of Sylvia Daughtry-Brown
  • Evelyn Glass Langston - mother of Beth Fitts
  • Dorothy E. Leonard - mother of Sharon Diebel
  • Mr. & Mrs. James Perry Locklear - parents of Dr. J. Grady Locklear
  • Marvin McClam - grandfather of Erin McClam
  • Logan McCombs - son of Stella McCombs
  • Johnny Morton - husband of Betty Morton
  • Kathleen Murphy - Freedom HS Revolution staff member
  • Bonnie Neely - friend of Sylvia Daughtry-Brown
  • Joseph W. Penton, Jr. - father of Valerie Kibler
  • Renee Ragsdale - mother of David Ragsdale
  • O.W. Tom Riegel - former SIPA director
  • Edith Robertson - grandmother of Leslie Dennis
  • Dr. Al Scroggins - former dean and SIPA director
  • Chuck Stone - University of North Carolina professor
  • Ruth Dennis Sherman - grandmother of Leslie Dennis
  • Flip Shulke - photographer and friend of SIPA
  • Pert Wall - friend of Sylvia Daughtry-Brown
  • Doris Whalen - mother of Rich Whalen
  • Francis John Wuzzardo - father of Kevin Wuzzardo
  • David S. Yoakley - father of Mary Inglis
  • Madge Yoakley - mother of Mary Inglis

Quick Links

Register to become a lifetime member here

Auction Donation Form

Endowment Donation Form

Endowment Auction Information (pdf)

SIPA Endowment Recognitions

Lifetime Members

Adviser Recognitions

In Honor of

In Memory of

  Columbia, SC 29208 • 803-777-3244