Skip to Content


Information for Faculty and Staff


This page contains information about, and recipients of, awards chosen by the faculty which are not student awards.

The Mary Caldwell Excellence in Teaching Award is awarded annually to an SJMC faculty member for outstanding teaching.  The award is presented at the School’s annual Alumni Awards event in the Fall semester. The winner receives a $1500 monetary award.

All full-time, regular faculty members are eligible for the award.  The Director of the School, the Dean of the College and visiting professors are not eligible.  A previous recipient is not be eligible to win the award for two consecutive years following the prior award.

In the annual performance review process during the Spring semester, the T&P Committee will evaluate the teaching records of tenured and tenure-track faculty (with the exception of full professors) to identify the files of any faculty who have demonstrated superior teaching in their annual performance reviews.  Those teaching files will then be referred to the Caldwell teaching award committee (defined below). The Director will follow a parallel process in evaluating and identifying instructors and full professors who have demonstrated superior teaching.

The Caldwell teaching award committee will then review the teaching files of those nominated by the T&P Committee and/or the Director to determine (by majority vote) if a faculty member’s record is of such outstanding merit that she/he should be chosen for the Caldwell teaching award. Only one award shall be given in a calendar year.  The committee may elect not to make the award in any given year.


The Caldwell teaching award committee will consist of three, full-time faculty members.  The Director of the School and the Dean of the College are not eligible to serve on the committee.  The School’s three Mungo Award recipients will comprise the committee for 2016. Each year subsequent, one of the initial committee members will cycle off the committee to be replaced by the most recent award recipient.  This same pattern of the longest-serving committee member rotating off the committee each year will continue. If there is no award winner in a given year, the composition of the committee will remain the same until a new award-winner becomes eligible.

Candidates will use the teaching criteria outlined in the School’s T&P guidelines:

  • Receipt of teaching awards.
  • Receipt of faculty development grants to support innovations in teaching.
  • Peer and student evaluation of teaching.
  • Publication of teaching materials, whether in printed form, multimedia or other computer-based instruction, regardless of the medium of presentation.
  • Mentorship contributing to receipt of student awards and/or honors. The faculty member should explain the extent of his or her contribution.
  • Supervision of student work leading to presentation and or publication. The faculty member should explain the extent of his or her contribution.
  • Advisement of Doctoral dissertations and Masters theses.
  • Work in professional positions in the mass communications industry during summers or leave time or, with the approval of the Director, part-time during regular term.
  • Development and management of seminars and workshops for colleagues who want to enhance or improve their teaching skills.
  • Appointment or election to leadership roles in teaching-related activities of professional associations.
  • Development or enrichment of new courses or programs.
  • Requests to instruct seminar sessions for academic or professional associations.
  • Requests to serve as a visiting teacher at another institution.

The School’s required course evaluations from students and evaluations from unit colleagues are an important documentation of teaching quality. Subjective evaluations obtained in interviews with students and alumni or in letters solicited from them may be included. Evaluations from unit colleagues may also be included.

2020 - Randy Covington, Director of Special Projects
2018 - August Grant, J. Rion McKissick Professor of Journalism
2017 - Scott Farrand, Senior Instructor
2016 - Lisa Sisk, Senior Instructor

2013 - Van Kornegay '81
2011 - Ken Baldwin '49
2010 - Jay Bender '70
2009 - Bonnie Drewniany
2008 - W. Lee Bussell '82
2007 - Bud Tibshrany '76

This award recognizes an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the school at large through a sharing of their time and expertise and is an outstanding representative of the profession, the school and the university.

2021 - Laura Thorp
2019 - Tommy Preston Jr.
2018 - Elizabeth Miller
2017 - Nonie Price
2016 - Fred Roper
2015 - Cathi Cooper Mack
2014 - Jane K. Olsgaard
2013 - Drs. Bruce & Lee Foundation
2012 - Jack Bryan 



Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.