Skip to Content


Journalism and Mass Communications

Graduate Faculty

As of 5/19/20

Regular and associate members (see lists below) are allowed to teach 700- and 800-level courses, to direct a thesis or dissertation, to serve on thesis or dissertation committees, and to serve on comprehensive exam committees. Term-appointed members are allowed to teach 700-level courses and to serve on thesis committees.

Regular Membership

Faculty members holding the Ph.D. or other terminal degree in a discipline are, upon appointment to a tenure-track position at the University of South Carolina, Columbia campus, eligible to become members of the Graduate Faculty. Specifically, The Faculty Manual defines those eligible to be regular members of the graduate faculty on the Columbia campus as the president; provost; dean of Graduate Studies; associate deans of The Graduate School; and chairs of academic departments offering degrees conferred by The Graduate School.

Bierbauer, Charles   Jun, Jungmi Pardun, Carol
Bowen, Shannon Kim, Sei-Hill Pellizzaro, Kirstin
Campbell, Kenneth   Maye, Carmen Reichert, Tom
Carter, Shirley McKeever, Brooke Robinson, Eric
Fitzpatrick, Mary Anne McKeever, Robert Tanner, Andrea
Grant, August  Mortensen, Tara  Wen, Taylor
Habib, Sabrina Moscowitz, Leigh Wu, Linwan
Hickerson, Andrea Overton, Holly  Xiao, Anli
Hull, Kevin    

Associate Membership

Non-tenure-track USC faculty members and scholars who hold the PhD or other terminal degree may be appointed to associate membership in the Graduate Faculty. Associate Membership appointments to the Graduate faculty are granted upon nomination by an academic unit to the Dean of Graduate Studies for a period not to exceed 6 years. Associate membership is appropriate for full-time USC clinical faculty, research faculty and other USC scholars holding an appropriate terminal degree. Associate members may teach graduate courses, direct theses and dissertations and participate in graduate student committees, serve on Graduate Council or its committees, and vote on matters coming before the Graduate Faculty.

Collins, Erik (05/21)
Smith, Laura (12/22)

Term Appointments

Faculty members and scholars not otherwise eligible for regular membership on the Graduate faculty may be appointed to term appointments. Term appointments to the Graduate School faculty are granted upon nomination by an academic unit to the Dean of Graduate Studies for a period not to exceed 3 years. Term appointments to the Graduate School faculty confer the rights only to teach graduate courses and serve on graduate students' committees. Persons with term appointments are eligible for reappointment.

Brannon, Greg (12/20)
Covington, Randy (12/20)
Davis, Kelly (05/21)
Grigg, Ernest (05/21)
Purday, Marcia (05/22)
Sisk, Lisabeth  (05/22)
Wiggins, Ernest (12/20)

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.