Skip to Content

College of Engineering and Computing

  • Electrical Engineering Distinguished Professor Adel Nasiri in front of the Swearingen Building

Nasiri elevated to IEEE Fellow

Electrical Engineering Distinguished Professor Adel Nasiri will be elevated to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Fellow, effective January 1, 2022. He was elevated for his contributions to high-power converters for energy storage systems and microgrids. 

“For me, it is the recognition of the hard work in the past 20 years and the contributions that I have made,” Nasiri says. “This is the highest level and honor at IEEE and carries significant weight, so I am humbled by it.”

IEEE is the world's leading professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. The IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select members whose accomplishments in any IEEE field deem them worthy. Nasiri was nominated by IEEE Fellow Bruno Lequesne, owner of E-Motors Consulting, LLC and former president of the IEEE Industry Application Society

Nasiri joined the College of Engineering and Computing faculty in August after serving in various positions for 16 years at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. He was associate dean for research and director of several successful research programs and initiatives. Nasiri was the interim and founding executive director of the Connected Systems Institute, with a focus on Industrial Internet of Things. He also served as site director for the National Science Foundation’s Center on Grid-Connected Advanced Power Electronic Systems (GRAPES), an industry and university cooperative research center which seeks to make electric power systems more sustainable, cost-effective and secure. Nasiri serves as chair of the IEEE Industry Applications Society Committee on Renewable and Sustainable Energy Conversion Systems and vice chair TC5 (sustainable energy systems) of the IEEE Power Electronics Society.

Nasiri is the fourth current electrical engineering faculty member to be elevated to IEEE Fellow. The others are Professor David Matolak, Carolina Distinguished Professor Asif Khan, and Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus Tangali Sudarshan

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.