Skip to Content

Division of Human Resources

Holidays

The University of South Carolina observes the same number of holidays as other state agencies even though the days on which the holidays are observed may differ because of the academic schedule. When a university holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday the holiday will be observed on the preceding Friday, or the following Monday. 


Holiday Schedule 

The following dates have been approved as the official university holidays.

New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 20
National Memorial Day Monday, May 25
Independence Day (observed) Friday, July 3
Labor Day Monday, September 7
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 27
Christmas Eve  Thursday, December 24
Christmas Day Friday, December 25
Day After Christmas Monday, December 28
December Holiday  Tuesday, December 29
December Holiday  Wednesday, December 30
December Holiday Thursday, December 31
New Year’s Day (first 2021 holiday) Friday, January 1, 2021


Holiday Leave

Holidays are to be taken on the day designated in the university holiday schedule unless it is necessary for the employee to be at work. To the extent possible, prior notice will be given to employees who must work on holidays. All holiday leave must be reported through the university’s time and attendance management system (ITAMS) or other applicable time recording system. For more information about entering time, or for additional details about holiday leave, please visit the Policies and Procedures section of this site.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©