Skip to Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Hans-Conrad zur Loye's Group Awarded

Professor Hans-Conrad zur Loye's research group of Graduate Students:  Dileka Abeysinghe, Justin Felder, Timothy Ferreira, John Jordan, Allison Latshaw, and Postdoctoral Fellow Gregory Morrison, received the Chemistry and Biochemistry Sustainability Award.

Students of the American Chemical Society Poly/PMSE Chapter at USC kicked off an energy conservation week for the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry on August 29. 

The sustainability committee, Julia Pribyl, Mitra Ganewatta and Professor Scott Goode, went through every departmental research lab in the John M. Palms Center for Graduate Science Research and Horizon buildings.  They saw sash height reminders, and placards encouraging water and electricity savings in nearly every lab, thanks to John Herczogh of VWR.  The change in safety and sustainability culture was impressive.  But, most impressive was Prof. zur Loye’s labs in which the hood sashes were all raised by only one inch or less, there was no running water, and the lights in all unoccupied labs were out. They received a basket of goodies, kindly provided by Mary Morales of Fisher Scientific, for their efforts. 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.