Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications

  • Jason Broughton

    Watch the 2022 Lecture by Jason Broughton

iSchool hosts annual Deans' and Directors' Lecture

The School of  Information Science honored students, faculty and alumni leaders at the 37th Deans' and Directors' Lecture and Awards ceremony on March 18. The annual event, which was canceled in 2020 and held virtually in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, was held in person this year at the Hollings Program Room at Thomas Cooper Library.

Karen Gavigan, interim director of the iSchool, hosted the event which honors past and current deans and directors of the school. She recognized those individuals in attendance — Fred Roper, Dan Barron and Dick Kawooya — as well as Jane Olsgaard, widow of former director John Olsgaard.

"This year’s lecture is really, really special because it’s the 50th anniversary of our program," Gavigan said. "We thank these gentlemen for their years of service to our program, to the college and to the University of South Carolina."

Associate professor Susan Rathbun-Grubb inducted seven students into Beta Phi Mu, the library and information science honor society. Inductees were selected by the faculty based on scholarship, leadership and service. The initiates were: Tami Blumenfield, Fred Jamie Corson, Gale Freeman, Tomeka Jackson, Greer Kelley, Pamela Thomas and Sarah Wilds.

Other honorees were:

  • Karen Gavigan and Laura Thorp
    Carolyn Delton Service Award - Sponsored by LISSA, this award honors individuals who go above and beyond what they need to do for everyone at the school.
  • Elle Boyle
    Samantha K. Hastings Student Award for Undergraduate Leadership - This award honors an outstanding undergraduate student leader in the school. 
  • Serena Harn
    Undergraduate Scholarship - This award honors an outstanding undergraduate student for academic excellence.
  • Andrew Wakelee
    Robert V. Williams Research Award - This award honors a student who has made exemplary contributions to scholarly research.
  •  Karen Gavigan
    John N. Olsgaard Distinguished Service Award - This award recognizes an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the school at large through a sharing of their time and expertise and is an outstanding representative of the profession, the school and the university.
  • Grayce Jones
    Wayne S. Yenawine Distinguished Student Award - This award is presented to a graduate from the previous year's class based on the entirety of the student experience including grade point average, quality of class participation and the ability to assimilate information and pass it on.
  • Laura Carter
    William M. Trafton III Outstanding Student Award for Leadership - This is given annually to an outstanding student leader who promotes a sense of community at the iSchool through school work, professional participation and involvement with student organizations.
  • Christine Shelek
     F. William Summers Outstanding Alumni Award - This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the school and whose career reflects a commitment to excellence and dedication to the advancement of the profession.
  • Check Point Software Technologies
    Director's Excellence in Partnership Award
  • Jennifer Arns, Jill Chappell-Fail, Darlene Jackson and Madonna Stoehr
    Lifetime Service Award

The evening highlight was a lecture by alumnus Jason Broughton, director of the National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled at the Library of Congress. His topic was Information and the Individual: A conversation on inputs, society, outcomes and librarianship.

Fred Roper and Jack Bryan, co-chairs of the 50th Anniversary planning committee, ended the evening with a brief history of the school and an invitation to attend the 50th celebration on Saturday, April 30th at 2 p.m. 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.