Skip to Content

Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Our People

 The Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures at the University of South Carolina invites applications for a tenure-track Assistant Professor position in the field of Roman Material and Literary Culture of the Imperial period.

Narrow your search by language by typing it into the search field.

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Allorto, Andrew Instructor of Spanish allorto@mailbox.sc.edu spanish Language, Literature and Cultures
Faculty Anderson, Lara Lomicka Professor of French and Applied Linguistics 803-777-1600 lomicka@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Baba, Junko Associate Professor of Japanese 803-777-4882 babaj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Japanese Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Badr, Farida Instructor of Arabic fbadr@mailbox.sc.edu Arabic Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Beck, Mark A. Associate Professor of Classics Undergraduate Director & Classics Program Director 803-777-4882 beckma@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Beecroft, Alexander Jessie Chapman Alcorn Memorial Professor of Foreign Languages abeecrof@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Beek, David Ph.D. Candidate in Comparative Literature dbeek@email.sc.edu Spanish, Portuguese Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Benavente, Maria Seila Senior Instructor of Spanish 803-777-2144 benavenm@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Bertucci, Pia L. Senior Instructor of Italian Italian Program Director 803-777-4882 bertucci@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Bonafos, Alexandre Assistant Professor of French Cultural Studies 803-777-4882 bonafos@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Breen, Alanna M. Senior Instructor of Spanish and Portuguese 803-777-4882 breenam@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish, portuguese Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Brightwell, Ellen Senior Instructor of Spanish brightek@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Brothers, Sara Scheduling Coordinator 803-777-4884 sbrother@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Camacho, Jorge Professor of Spanish, Comparative Literature, and Latin American Studies camachoj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Carlson, Erin Instructor of Spanish ecarlson@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Castner, Catherine Distinguished Professor Emerita, Classics castnerc@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Chong, Kim Administrative Assistant 803-777-4881 chongk@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Corley, Andrew Senior Instructor of Spanish 803-336-8477 corleyam@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Crowe, Purificacíon Senior Instructor of Spanish pvcrowe@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Cueto, Ana Senior Instructor of Spanish cueto@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Curry, Valerie Proietto Instructor of French curryvp@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Dal Molin, Aria Assistant Professor of Renaissance Literary and Cultural Studies dalmolin@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French, Italian Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Dalola, Amanda Assistant Professor of French & Linguistics dalola@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French, Linguistics Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Davis, Patricia Instructor of Portuguese padavis2@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish, Portuguese Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Di Cecco, Daniela Associate Professor dpdicecc@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Dieng, Rokhaya Ph.D. Student rdieng@email.sc.edu French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Ducate, Lara Professor of German and Applied Linguistics Faculty Executive Director of USC Connect ducate@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, German, Sustainability, Saxony, paymaster Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Eaton, Anna Instructor eatonag@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Engelbrecht, Ursula Instructor of German engelbru@mailbox.sc.edu German Language, Literature and Cultures
Staff Evans, Teel Senior Instructor of Spanish evanse@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish, Valencia Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Fairchild, William IT Consultant Language Resource Unit 803-777-2636 fairchil@mailbox.sc.edu IT, webmaster, technical, support, tech, help Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Fialdini Zambrano, Rossana Instructor of Spanish fialdini@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Garane, Jeanne Professor of French & Comparative Literature garanej@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Gardner, Hunter Associate Professor of Classics gardnehh@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Goblirsch, Kurt Professor of German and Linguistics German Program Director, Director of USC-Bamberg Exchange kggoblir@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Guillemin-Persels, Brigitte Senior Instructor of French bguillem@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Guo, Jie Associate Professor of Comparative Literature Director of Comparative Literature guoji@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Haxton, Meaghan DLLC Department Coordinator & Director of Communications 803-777-9734 mhaxton@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Holt, D. Eric Associate Professor of Spanish deholt01@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty House, Michael Assistant Professor of German housemk@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, German Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Ihinger, Kelsey Instructor of Spanish kihinger@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Ivory, Yvonne Associate Professor of German and Comparative Literature Graduate Director ivory@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Janzen, Rebecca Assistant Professor of Spanish & Comparative Literature janzenr@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Language, Literature and Cultures
Faculty Johnson, Andrea Instructor of ASL uscaslamj@gmail.com American Sign Language Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Kalb, Judith Associate Professor of Russian Russian Program Director kalbj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Russian Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Kellogg, Beatriz Senior Instructor of Spanish kellogbr@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty King, Chris Administrative Assistant 803-777-0473 kingcj2@mailbox.sc.edu DLLC, Graduate Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Lee, Cari Senior Instructor of Spanish kepner@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Liese, Henning Information Systems / Business Analyst Language Resource Unit 803-777-1363 henning@sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Lindsey, Leah Senior Instructor of Spanish Spanish Major Advisement lindseyl@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Linthicum, Nancy S. Assistant Professor of Arabic Studies Arabic Program Director linthicn@mailbox.sc.edu Arabic Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Liu, Jiang Assistant Professor of Chinese & Applied Linguistics jiangliu@mailbox.sc.edu Chinese Languages, Literatures and Cultures; Linguistics
Faculty Lopez Rodriguez, Mercedes Associate Professor of Spanish & Comparative Literature lopezrod@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Malovrh, Paul Associate Professor of Hispanic Linguistics malovrh@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty McAteer, Timothy Senior Instructor of Spanish Placement Coordinator tcmcatee@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Placement, Spanish, language Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff McElhinny, Paul T. Ph.D. Candidate paultm@email.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty McNicoll, Matthew Instructor of Japanese mcnicolm@mailbox.sc.edu Japanese Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Moraes, Ariston Instructor of Portuguese moraesro@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, portuguese, spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Moreno, Nina Associate Professor of Spanish and SLA Spanish TA Supervisor morenon@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures and Cultures; Linguistics
Faculty Mueller, Agnes Professor of German and Comparative Literature College of Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor of the Humanities; Director, Program in Global Studies acmuelle@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, German, Global Studies Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Muroya, Shunko Senior Instructor of Japanese muroya@mailbox.sc.edu japanese Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Newall, Gregory Instructor of Spanish newall@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Noviello, Dominick Instructor of Italian dnoviell@mailbox.sc.edu Language, Literature and Cultures
Faculty Ogden, Alexander Associate Professor of Russian ogdenj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Osborne, Jason Instructor of Classics osbornjm@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Owens, Brad Senior Instructor of German owenscb@mailbox.sc.edu German Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Patterson, Gregory Assistant Professor of Chinese and Comparative Literature gpatters@mailbox.sc.edu Chinese Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Persels, Jeff Associate Professor of French French Program Director perselsj@mailbox.sc.edu French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Pollicino, Rosario Instructor of Italian pollicir@mailbox.sc.edu italian Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Rajca, Andrew C. Associate Professor of Portuguese and Spanish Interim Director of the Spanish Program rajca@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish, Portuguese Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Rider, Zackary Paul Instructor of Latin riderz@mailbox.sc.edu Latin Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Sakakibara, Yoshitaka Associate Professor of Japanese (Emeritus) sakakiy@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Salamifar, Farzad Instructor of French salamifa@mailbox.sc.edu French Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Sanchez, Francisco Professor of Spanish & Comparative Literature Assistant Department Chair sanchezf@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish, Graduate Director Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Sanchez Samblas, Maria Victoria Instructor of Spanish ms93@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Schneider, Wendy Senior Instructor of Spanish wcschnei@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Scutt, Colleen Instructor of Spanish cscutt@email.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Sefrin-Weis, Heike Associate Professor of Classics 803-777-3723 sefrinwe@mailbox.sc.edu Philosophy; Language, Literature and Cultures
Faculty Stefanić-Brown, Kristina Instructor of German & Italian stefani2@mailbox.sc.edu German, Italian Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Swygert, Carla Senior Instructor of Spanish aguado@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Tahmassian, Lena Assistant Professor of Spanish tahmassian@sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Tumini, Angela Instructor of Italian atumini@mailbox.sc.edu Italian Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Van Fleit, Krista Associate Professor of Chinese Literature and Language Chinese Program Director vanfleit@mailbox.sc.edu chinese Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Vazsonyi, Nicholas Professor of German & Comparative Literature Department Chair nvazsony@mailbox.sc.edu German, Wagner, Languages Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Villicana, Mariela Instructor of Spanish villican@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Language, Literature and Cultures
Faculty Waites, Whitney Instructor of Spanish Spanish Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Faculty Walsh, Patrick Instructor of German pjwalsh@mailbox.sc.edu Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Staff Watson, Carla Budget Manager 803-777-4882 Watson97@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Williard, Ashley Assistant Professor of French awilliar@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Wiskes, Catherine Senior Instructor of Spanish wiskes@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Ye, Tan Professor of Comparative Literature and Chinese Confucius Institute Director ye@sc.edu Chinese, Confucius Institute Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Zalba, Rocio Instructor of Spanish zalba@mailbox.sc.edu Language, Literature and Cultures

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©