Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications

  • Jack Rogers

SCSPA members win at 2017 National High School Journalism Fall Convention

Posted November 20, 2017

Above photo by Jack Rogers, Wando High School (Mt. Pleasant), received honorable mention in environmental portrait.

SCSPA members won some big awards from the Journalism Education Association and National Scholastic Press Association at the 2017 Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Dallas Nov. 15-19.

NSPA announced its winners of the annual Best in Show, Pacemaker and Individual competitions Saturday, Nov. 18, and JEA announced write-off competitions winners Sunday, Nov. 19. 

These awards exemplify excellence in scholastic journalism and recognize individual journalistic efforts. Publications and individuals who are members of SCSPA and were honored this past weekend are listed below.

2017 Best of Show

4th Place – "Tribe Talk," Wando High School (Mt. Pleasant)

Literary Magazine
4th Place – Psyche, Richland Northeast High School (Columbia)

Newspaper Tabloid 17 or More Pages
6th Place – Tribal Tribune, Wando High School (Mt. Pleasant)

2017 NSPA Individual Competition Winners

Broadcast Sports Story
Honorable Mention – Clarkson Broadwater, McKenzie Tillman and Sha-dia Burch, "RNE-TV," Richland Northeast High School (Columbia)

Literary Magazine Cover
4th Place – Justin McGuirl, Voices, Nation Ford High School (Fort Mill)
Honorable Mention – Caroline Williamson, Psyche, Richland Northeast High School (Columbia)

Literary Magazine Page/Spread
1st Place – Gracie Boyce, Ellie Pobis and Caroline Williamson, Psyche, Richland Northeast High School (Columbia)

4th Place – Liesl Juell, Voices, Nation Ford High School (Fort Mill)
Honorable Mention – Caroline Kascur, Psyche, Richland Northeast High School (Columbia)

News Picture
4th Place – Jack Rogers, Tribal Tribune, Wando High School (Mt. Pleasant)

Sports Action Picture
3rd Place – Nathan Warner, Legend, Wando High School (Mt. Pleasant)

Sports Reaction Picture
Honorable Mention – Nathan Warner, LegendWando High School (Mt. Pleasant)

Environmental Portrait
Honorable Mention – Jack Rogers, Tribal TribuneWando High School (Mt. Pleasant)


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.