Skip to Content

National Fellowships and Scholar Programs

Competition Details

NIH National Research Service Awards

Goes By: NIH F-Series Awards

Be sure to consult the Fellowship Website for complete eligibility and competition requirements.

About this Fellowship

National Institutes of Health National Research Service Awards are training fellowships for doctoral-level biomedical researchers. NIH NRSA F-series awards support students in MD/PhD (F30) and PhD (F31 and F31 Diversity) programs.

NRSA awards support the training of biomedical, behavioral, and clinical researchers through individual pre- and postdoctoral fellowships, and institutional research. Applicants apply to one of NIH's 27 institutes and centers. F-series awards are prepared by the graduate student and faculty mentors and are submitted through the university.

Applicants should contact their faculty advisor, graduate director, and the Office of Sponsored Awards Management for direction on how to submit an application.

Applications are due April 8, August 8, and December 8 each year. Deadlines for AIDS-related research are May 7, September 7, and January 7.

Award Value

Provides an annual stipend of $26,352 plus 60% of tuition costs (up to $16,000) and coverage of training-related expenses for up to five years.

Eligibility Requirements

Requirements Details
Year(s) of Application Doctoral


US Citizen, Permanent Resident
Campus Nomination Required No

Last updated: December 15, 2022

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.