Skip to Content

National Fellowships and Scholar Programs

  • Truman Finalist 2021

South Carolina Junior Laura-Louise Rice Named 2021 Truman Finalist


The National Fellowships and Scholar Programs office is pleased to announce that junior Laura-Louise Rice has been selected as a Truman finalist. Highly competitive and prestigious, the $30,000 Truman Scholarship is awarded to approximately 60 juniors nationally for superior academic ability, a strong record of service and leadership, and plans for careers in public service. Rice was selected as one of 193 finalists from 129 institutions, out of a record number of 845 applicants from 328 institutions.

Rice is a member of the South Carolina Honors College pursuing a BARSC degree in Medical Humanities and Public Policy. At UofSC she has been as a member of Student Government since 2018, beginning as a member of Freshman Council then serving in a variety of roles from Senator and Chairwoman of the Student Fee Transparency Committee to Deputy Chief of Staff to the Speaker of the Student Senate. She is also involved in Mock Trial and is the President-Elect of Alpha Kappa Psi Business Fraternity. Rice hopes to earn a dual Juris Doctorate and Master’s in Public Health. After attending graduate school, she plans to start a Health-Justice Nonprofit Organization in South Carolina and eventually run for congressional office.

University of South Carolina Truman candidates are evaluated and nominated by a UofSC scholarship committee, chaired by David Simmons (Anthropology and Public Health). Other members of the University Truman Committee include Steven Burritt (USC 1995 Truman Scholar), Kirk Randazzo (Political Science), Shelley Smith (Sociology), Mindi Spencer (Public Health), Matthew Wilson (Political Science), and Lori Ziolkowski (Earth, Ocean and Environment).

Rice was also assisted by the University’s National Fellowships and Scholar Programs office ( which provides advisement and support to students competing for national fellowships. UofSC has had 10 Truman Scholars, including Bennett Lunn in 2019, Casey Brayton in 2018, Jory Fleming in 2016, Asma Jaber in 2007, Thomas Scott in 2006, Jeremy Wolfe in 2004, and Lara Bratcher in 2003.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.