Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications

  • Caitylyn and Lydia

    Lydia Blackstone (l) and Caitlin Ashbaugh, two of the former SJMC students who attended the awards ceremony.

The NATAS Southeast Chapter announces student award winners

Five recent graduates of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications were recipients of 2024 Student Production Awards during a ceremony on March 23, 2024. The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Southeast Chapter selected the honorees whose entries  were created while students at the University of South Carolina.

In all, 14 SJMC broadcast journalism students were nominated for awards in seven categories.  Five students won in five different categories.

"I was thrilled to see so many of our students were recognized by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences for their outstanding work in our broadcast capstone program that we call Senior Semester," says senior instructor Rick Peterson. "They were all team leaders when they were on the Carolina News team.  It's fun to see what they're doing now after graduation." 

2024 Student Production Award Recipients


Caitlin Ashbaugh for producing the Nov. 16, 2022 Carolina News show.
Ashbaugh is now a reporter for WCSC in Charleston. 

News Reporting - Serious News

Cade Crenshaw - Chapin Family Pushes for Boating Education
Crenshaw is the sports information director for Allen University.

News Reporting - Light News

Finn Carlin - Real Men Read
Carlin is a reporter/producer for CBS47 in Jacksonville, Florida.

Sports Reporting

Kendall Smith - These Dames Play Tackle
Smith is a team reporter for the Charlotte Knights.


Caiden Dinkins for her March 15, 2023 weathercast
Dinkins is a weather anchor at KTXS in Abilene, Texas.

2024 Student Production Award Nominees

Alex Ross - Carolina News: April 4, 2023

News Reporting - Serious News 
Finn Carlin - SCDOT Unveils Major I-77 Bridge Repair Project

Arianna Bertolotti - The Fentanyl Crisis: One Family's Loss and Struggle to Recover

Ellie Malcolm - Upstate Mother Warns Community About Iced-Over Ponds

News Reporting - Light News 
Haley Bowick - Aspiring Songwriters' Night on Stage

Lydia Blackstone - Will SC Allow Alcohol Delivery to your Front Door?

Non-Fiction - Short Form
Chloe Barlow - No Trust, No Respect, and No One Left

Sports Program
Hanna Barton  - April 14, 2023 (Live sportscast at stadium)

Joshua Tekle, Ashley Listrom - Soldiers Fight Their Way Through Fort Jackson's Night Course

The Student Production Awards recognize outstanding student achievement in production by conferring awards of merit in the Chapter’s designated awards region. The presentation of these awards is intended to be an incentive for the continued pursuit of excellence by those studying media and journalism and to focus public attention on outstanding cultural, educational, technological, entertainment, news and informational achievements by undergraduate college and/or high school students.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.