Skip to Content

Academic Advising

University Advisors Network

The UAN provides resources for all USC faculty and professional staff academic advisors serving Carolina undergraduate students. The UAN is the Provost-appointed coordinating council for academic advisors at USC. Each college and/or advising unit has a representative in the UAN who serves as a liaison to enhance campus-wide advising effectiveness. 

University Advisors' Network

Please note, UAN Meetings are open to all academic advisors; however, every academic advising unit is asked to delegate one member responsible for attending meetings, disseminating information, and monitoring the listserv.

Conditions of Membership Include:

  • One-year appointment by college or department. One member per advising unit. Often the same member is renewed each year.
  • Attend all meetings or send representative in your place.
  • Review minutes for accuracy. Approval at meetings.
  • Suggest topics for discussion (via online form, in-person, email).
  • In coordination with chairs, keep topics for discussion on-going until resolution.
  • Speak on behalf of your college or department for topics such as training, policy implementation, revised practice.
  • Update UAN on changes in your college. (i.e. new advising models, new procedures, new hires, etc.).
  • Sub-committees and specialty topics.
  • Utilize UAN resources via website.
  • Possible voting (by members only) on recommended practice (new or revised).
  • Approve your college’s information for campus-wide dissemination.
  • Relay information back to your advising department.
  • Advocacy for advising.

UAN Meeting Schedule

The University Advisors Network meets monthly. Please see the UAN meeting schedule below for time and location. 

  Date Time Location
 Fall 2019 September 18, 2019 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  October 23, 2019 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  November 20, 2019 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
Spring 2020 December 18, 2019 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  January 15, 2020 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  February 19, 2020 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  March 18, 2020 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  April 29, 2020  9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  May 20, 2020 9:30-11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor


 

UAN Meeting Minutes and Handouts

September 2018 [minutes]: Summer 2018 Advising Recap [Handout], DegreeWorks Planner [Handout], On Your Time Summer and Winter Sessions, Undergraduate Research Registry [Handout], Changing Majors LEAN Recommendations [Handout]

October 2018 [minutes]: New Budget Model, Academic Common Market, Advisor Professional Development Opportunities, Appreciating Academic Advisors Program

November 2018 [minutes]: Athletics Advising, Admissions Update, USC Connect Updates, Orientation Updates

December 2018 [minutes]: Accelerated Bachelor's/Graduate Study Plan, Freshman Interest Groups, DegreeWorks Audit & Planner, Non-Registered Initiative & Appreciating Academic Advisors [Handout], Orientation

January 2019 [minutes]: Study Abroad, University Registrar, Advising Technology

February 2019 [minutes]: Diversity Class Overview/Enrollment Trends

March 2019 [minutes]: On Your Time Updates [Handout], My UofSC Experience, Beyond the Classroom Matters, & Advisor View [Handout]

April 2019 [minutes]: Banner IX May update/new views of Self-Service Carolina, Major Maps & Program of Study

May 2019 [minutes]: New Student Orientation & Summer Advisement, Counseling Center (Outreach and Referrals), UAN Year in Review

September 2019 [minutes]: Study Abroad, Orientation Summer Recap [Handout], College Change of Major Form Discussion [Handout], Academic Common Market Updates

October 2019 [minutes]: Academic Common Market Updates, AFAM Highlight, Transfer Student Data & Retention Initiatives [Handout], EAB & Advisor Assignments Update

 

UAN Advising Technology Subcommittee Meeting Minutes and Handouts

 

UAN Members

Type Affiliation Name Contact Keywords
(hidden column)
Member College of Arts & Sciences
Kathy Anastes
Academic Advisor and Administrative Assistant, Economics Department
kathy.anastes@moore.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Patricia Armstrong
Director of Academic Programs, Criminology and Criminal Justice
parmstro@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management
Valeria Bates
Academic Advisor, College of Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management
bates5@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
Undergraduate Admissions
Teresa Florentin
Senior Assistant Director, Office of Undergraduate Admissions
tflorentin@.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Rebecca Boyd
Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator, School of Visual Art and Design
boydrr@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Claudia Carriere
Undergraduate/Graduate Coordinator and Office Manager, Department of Anthropology
cfcarri@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
South Carolina Honors College
Rachel Denmark
Coordinator of Student Services, South Carolina Honors College
denmarkr@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
University Advising Center
Brian Dusel
Director of Advising Technology, University Advising Center
duselb@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member USC Connect
Amber Fallucca
Associate Director, USC Connect
fallucca@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Study Abroad
Chrissie Faupel
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Advising, Study Abroad
faupel@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Academic Common Market
Meghan Fields
Coordinator of Academic Common Market & NC-SARA Compliance
fieldsmb@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Darla Moore School of Business
Meredith McNeice
Associate Director/Academic Advisor, Darla Moore School of Business
meredith.mcneice@moore.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Gwen Geidel
Research Professor and Undergraduate Director, School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment
geidel@environ.sc.edu  
Member College of Social Work
Sonya Singleton
Assistant Dean of Students, College of Social Work
sonya.singleton@sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Dawn Hiller
Director of Student Services (Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences), College of Arts and Sciences
hillerd@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Engineering and Computing
Sarah Jusiewicz
Advising Coordinator, College of Engineering and Computing
jusiewis@cec.sc.edu  
Co-Chair College of Arts and Sciences
Loren Knapp
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences
lwknapp@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Janis Leaphart
Student Services Coordinator, Department of Political Science
leaphart@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Palmetto College
Melissa Lowe
Director of Student Support and Advising
lowem@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Registrar
Aaron Marterer
University Registrar
acmarte@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Terrell Moore
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
tlm2@email.sc.edu  
Member
 

New Student Orientation Bethany Naser
Director of New Student Orientation
 naser@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Pharmacy
Kristi Kinslow
Director of Pre-Professional Studies and Recruitment
niro@cop.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Connie Outen
Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator, Department of Psychology
couten@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts & Sciences
Carla Pfeffer 
Associate Professor of Sociology and Women's and Gender Studies and Undergraduate Program Director, Women's and Gender Studies 
 
 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Greg Carbone
Geography Department

carbone@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Member College of Information and Communications
Rachel Acosta
Student Services Manager, College of Information and Communications

acostar@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Member Arnold School of Public Health
T'Kara Richardson
Academic Advisor, Arnold School of Public Health

richa425@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Co-Chair University Advising Center
Claire Robinson
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Advisement and Director of University Advising Center
 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Jennifer Augustine,
Department of Sociology

augustjm@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Member Fellowships and Scholar Programs
Jan Smoak
Associate Director, Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs
jansmoak@sc.edu  
Member Athletics
Paul Stoltzfus
Executive Director of Academics, Department of Athletics
stoltzfu@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Summer, Evening, and Non-Degree Programs
Amanda Therrell
Manager- Academics, On Your Time Initiatives
atherrell@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Nancy Tolson
Assistant Director of African American Studies, African American Studies Program
tolsonn@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Nursing
Heidi Waltz
Student Services Manager, College of Nursing
waltzh@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Education
Donna Watson
Director, Office of Student Services, College of Education
watsond5@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member  College of Arts and Sciences
Amanda Zeigler
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Biological Sciences
apolson@biol.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
 Rachel Corbett,
Department of English
 

corbetrw@mailbox.sc..edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Laura Kissel, 
Director, School of Visual Art and Design

laura@sc.edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Tyler Mcnamara,
Department of History

 mcnamart@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Matt Miller,
Department of Mathematics

miller@math.sc.edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Anne Pollok, 
Assistant Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Philosophy

apollok@sc.edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Jeff Wilson,
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Director, Department of Physics and Astronomy

jwilson@sc.edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Lianming Wang, 
Department of Statistics

wang99@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences Lakesha Campbell, Student Services Coordinator, Department of Theatre and Dance

lcampbel@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Member School of Music
Jillian Carey, 
Academic Advisor, School of Music

jcarey@mozart.sc.edu

 
Member Opportunity Scholars Program Pinkney Epps, Opportunity Scholars Program Coordinator

eppsp@mailbox.sc.edu

 
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Leah Lindsey,
Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

lmiller@mailbox.sc.edu

 

     


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©