Skip to Content

Darla Moore School of Business

School of Accounting team wins Deloitte AICC Competition

May 9, 2019

The School of Accounting proudly congratulates the Moore School team of Brendon Beach, Katie Bergey, Katie Field, Karen Gates, Aaron Gulibon and Jack Graham on winning the Deloitte 2019 National Audit Innovation Campus Challenge. Each team member is receiving a $2,000 winner’s scholarship. In addition, the school is receiving a $10,000 honorary award from the Deloitte Foundation.

The AICC competition presents teams with a challenge statement to develop and present new and innovative audit and assurance services that push the boundaries of traditional accounting professional services offerings. If teams advance beyond the regional level, an additional challenge statement is issued. These challenges are included below.

The team, team advisor Clark Hampton and the School of Accounting would like to thank Brad Hocking, Adam Nicholson, Tori Irvin and Sean Bird of Deloitte for their guidance and assistance throughout the competition. An additional thank you also goes to all the faculty members that were able to attend the team’s practice presentation and provided insight and guidance.

The AICC competition has an elimination tournament format in which 54 teams compete in two rounds at the regional level. The best two teams from each region advance to the national competition, which uses an identical format to select the top three teams for the final round. From start to finish, the competition runs about six months and requires a tremendous amount of work and dedication from the students involved.

The following teams competed in the Southeast regional competition in November: University of Tennessee, College of William & Mary, University of Florida, Clemson University, University of Maryland, University of Virginia, Pennsylvania State University and the University of South Carolina. The Moore School team and the team from Clemson advanced, for the second time in two years, to the national round.

The other regional finalist teams that competed in the national competition round were Rutgers University, Baruch College, Baylor University, Louisiana State University, Michigan State University, Brigham Young University, University of Washington, university of Southern California, Colorado State University and Howard University.

In the final round, the Moore School team competed against teams from Howard University and Rutgers University. The Rutgers team came in second behind the Moore School team, while Howard’s team placed third.

Again, congratulations to Brendon Beach, Katie Bergey, Katie Field, Karen Gates, Aaron Gulibon and Jack Graham on a job well done.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.