Skip to Content

Darla Moore School of Business

University of Vermont receives Moore School's Page Prize for sustainability MBA program

July 12, 2016

The Sustainable Entrepreneurship MBA program from the Grossman School of Business at the University of Vermont has been awarded the 2015 Dr. Alfred N. and Lynn Manos Page Prize for Sustainability Issues in Business Curricula. This program was chosen because it is a full program, rather than a single class, completely dedicated to sustainability.

This year’s honorable mentions are R. Ryan Rafferty and Amanda F. Reilly from the Simmons College School of Management, Susan M. Keaveney from the University of Colorado Denver Business School and Olga Hawn from the Kenan-Flagler Business School at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. These professors’ courses stood out because of their student-centered reflection and the variety of the readings and assignments.

The Page Prize, which has been given out for nine years, is intended to encourage sustainability in business classroom curricula. In 2008, then dean Hildy Teegen founded the prize to serve two purposes: “One is to encourage efforts to expose business students to state-of-the-art environmental sustainability knowledge and practice. A secondary purpose is to demonstrate the commitment of the Moore School of Business to promoting sustainability in business education as the home for the Page Prize.”

The Darla Moore School of Business considers three types of sustainability: that involving the environment, that which concerns ethical behavior within a business and that which concerns ethical behavior between a business and a client or another business.

Syllabus or curriculum submissions are accepted from any business school. Shortly after the winner and honorable mentions are announced, their submissions are added to the online database of winners and honorable mentions from over the years to be used by business schools worldwide. These submissions cover a wide range of specialties including business administration, entrepreneurship, international business, management and marketing.

The grand prize-winning team will receive $1,000, and the team and individuals who were awarded honorable mentions will receive $250 each. All four will also receive a framed print of Lynn Manos Page’s “Aegean Sea #6.”

By Madeleine Vath

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.