Skip to Content

College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management

  • Banner Image

HRSM celebrates student scholarship donors and recipients

Posted on: April 30, 2018
By: Allen Wallace,, 803-777-5667

The College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management celebrated 55 award-winning students with a Scholarship Luncheon on Friday, April 27 at McCutchen House. Many of the donors who made the scholarships possible traveled from across the state and country to join the student recipients for the luncheon, which HRSM Dean Haemoon Oh hopes to make an annual event.

“We cannot thank our scholarship donors enough for their support of these outstanding students,” said Haemoon Oh, dean of the college. “To the student award winners: congratulations on this significant achievement. Please know we are proud of you and can’t wait to see where you will go representing HRSM!”

The college awarded more than $50,000 in scholarships this year to help ease the burden of tuition expenses and open up opportunities for students to study abroad, attend industry conferences and have other valuable experiences outside of the classroom.

"I'm very grateful my parents help me pay for college, but I have so many student loans at this point that I was struggling,” said retailing major Cali Foster, a Harry E. and Carmen S. Varney Endowed Scholarship winner. "This endowment really helps me through the year and helps my parents in helping me.”

The scholarship winners have studied and represented HRSM all over the world (two, in fact, missed the luncheon because they were studying in Australia). They have worked at countless big events including the Masters, the PGA Championship, the Olympics, the Super Bowl and the Kentucky Derby.

"There are a lot of expenses your senior year. This scholarship will be a tremendous boost to help me close out strong,” said Gordon Dia, a hospitality management major and winner of the Pooser Bicentennial Endowed Scholarship.

The award winners were selected by a college scholarship award committee out of hundreds of applicants this year. The college is actively working to gain support for additional scholarships so that even more students can have financial support to reach their academic and career goals.

Congratulations to the 2018-19 HRSM Scholarships and Winners:

College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management Endowed Scholarship

Laura Chitwood
Hannah Koppelman
David Varney
Wenyang Geng
Wanjiru Gikiri

George Rogers Endowed Scholarship

Andrew Co
Kiley Burns

Henry D. Jacobs, Jr. Endowed Scholarship

Gabriela Beavers
Gianna Messina
Julia Kleifges
Sydney Bernhardt
Sara Pollin

Harry E. and Carmen S. Varney Endowed Scholarship

Cali Foster
Julia Jaffee
Ashley Paturzo
Alyssa Haydon

Tom B. Pearce, Jr. Endowed Scholarship

Lyndsey Carnovale

Chef Jules Pernell Memorial Scholarship

Jiarong Xu
Xinyu Wang
Yuqi Wang

Mr. and Mrs. Phil E. Pearce Endowed Scholarship

Dashon Murray

Dr. Jack Weatherford Endowed Scholarship

Zoey Downes

M. Walker Pearce Endowed Scholarship

Chuhan Wang

E. Ellison Walker Endowed Scholarship

Chuhan Wang

Charles B. Walker Endowed Scholarship

Chuhan Wang

Pooser Bicentennial Endowed Scholarship

Tayler Metivier
Gordon Dia
Parker Coggins
Sophia Garrison
Alexis Hanak

Larry Ginocchio Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Marisa Florentino
London Weston

Gary and Jane Green Endowed Scholarship

Megan Feeney

Sean and Melissa Potter Endowed Scholarship

Julia Brodeur
Jiahua Gan

Weems O. Baskin, Jr. Scholarship in Sport Administration

Michale Schnepfe

Dan Reeves Sport and Entertainment Management Scholarship

Jenna Sclafani

Craig S. Kelly Memorial Endowed Scholarship

David Brake

Blayne Brown Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Olivia Fox
Bingchen Li
Dakota Bumbaco

Jim Hunter Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Regan Durham
Layne Shinaberry
Austin Myers

Darlington Raceway Scholarship

Kallie Brinkworth
Ryan Conley
Stephen Bork

2017-2018 Patricia G. Moody International Travel Scholarship

Taylor Williams

2017-18 Don Stowe International Travel Scholarship

Savannah Reeves

2017-2018 HRSM Alumni Society Fund Travel Scholarship

Cara Baldwin
Tayler Metivier
Catherine Snyder
Alexander Wright

Target Campus Grant Asset Protection Scholarship

Marilyn Orcutt

For more information about how to apply for an HRSM academic or travel scholarship, click here

For more information on how to support student scholarships, click here.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.