Skip to Content

School of Music

  • Banner Image

Chamber Innovista Concert Series opens with Parker Quartet

Chamber Innovista, the University of South Carolina’s newest chamber music series, opens the 2013–2014 season on Tuesday, November 19 with the world-renowned Parker Quartet. The series of world-class, innovative and original chamber music is affiliated with Innovista, the university’s research and innovation district. This season’s performances are held in the School of Music Recital Hall, conveniently situated in the heart of the Innovista.

The series is co-sponsored by the Friends of the University of South Carolina School of Music. Friends show their support for the continued growth and success of the USC School of Music by providing music scholarships to students, encouraging community participation in musical events, and by sponsoring special activities.

Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 7:30 p.m.
Parker Quartet Concert
School of Music Recital Hall
The award-winning Parker Quartet, the USC 2013 Quartet-in-Residence, was hailed by The New York Times as "something extraordinary." The Grammy Award-winning Quartet has rapidly distinguished itself as one of the preeminent ensembles of its generation. The Parker Quartet performed here in April to standing room crowds so get your tickets early.
Franz Schubert “Quartettsatz”
Thomas Adès “Arcadiana”
Ludwig van Beethoven Op.127

Sunday February 2, 2014, 3:00 p.m.
School of Music Recital Hall
Gustav Mahler's “Das Lied von der Erde” with a 15-member USC faculty chamber group, including Walter Cuttino and Janet Hopkins, soloists.

Sunday, April 6, 2014, 3:00 p.m.
School of Music Recital Hall

Kaija Saariaho: “Changing Light” with Jennifer Parker-Harley, flute, and Tina Stallard, soprano;
Johann Hoffmann: “Duetto for Mandolin and Violin” with Rebecca Hunter, violin, and Jesse Jones, mandolin;
Selections from the “Great American Songbook” with Bert Ligon and Jim Mings, guitar;
Alec Wilder: Suite for Double Bass and Guitar with Craig Butterfield, double bass, and Matthew Slotkin, guitar;
John Anthony Lennon: “Passing Future Past” with Joseph Rackers, piano; Clifford Leaman, saxophone; Robert Jesselson, cello; Matthew Slotkin, guitar; Craig Butterfield, double bass; Gordon Hicken, vibraphone.


Tickets are $15 for adults and $5 for senior citizens and students. Save with a $30 package price for all three concerts. Purchase tickets through Capitol Tickets by calling 803-251-2222, in person at the Koger Box Office, corner of Greene and Park Streets, or online.

Members of the Friends of the School of Music receive complimentary admission to the series.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.