Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

School of Music

Faculty and Staff Directory

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Ackley, James Professor / Trumpet 803-777-4149 ackley@mailbox.sc.edu trumpet, trumpet studio, ackley, cornet, flugelhorn
Faculty Alcalde, Bruno Assistant Professor of Music Theory 803-777-1501 BALCALDE@sc.edu music theory, Bruno Alcalde
Faculty Armstrong, Dominic Assistant Professor of Voice
Faculty Bain, Reginald Professor / Composition and Theory / Theory Area Coordinator / Director of the Experimental Music Studio (xMUSE) 803-777-8183 rbain@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Barnes, Gail Professor / Music Education 803-777-3389 gbarnes@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Barnes, Greg Instructor 803-777-3389 glbarnes@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Bates, William Emeritus wbates@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Bauer, John Emeritus
Faculty Berg, Christopher Professor / Guitar 803-777-7067 cberg@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Brunson, Tom Adjunct Voice Instructor TOMOPERA@aol.com Voice
Faculty Bryant, Claire Assistant Professor of Cello 803-576-8422 CTBRYANT@mailbox.sc.edu Claire Bryant, cello
Faculty Bush, Phillip Associate Professor / Piano / Chamber Music 803-777-5922 pbush@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Butterfield, Craig Professor / Double Bass 803-777-4324 cbutterfield@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Calloway, Rachel Instructor of Voice / Associate Director of Spark: Carolina's Leadership Laboratory rcalloway@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Cannon, Cormac Director of Bands 803-777-4278 cormac@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Carey Bigony, Jillian Academic Advisor/ Undergraduate Students 803-777-5651 jcarey@mozart.sc.edu advisor, music advisor, undergraduate advising
Faculty Carrico, Alexandria Assistant Professor of Musicology and Ethnomusicology Music History Music History
Faculty Casey, Neil Instructor, Violin / Assistant Director of Orchestras / Music Director, USC Campus Orchestra / Conductor, Opera at USC 803-777-0536 ncasey@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Christie, Laury Emeritus 803-777-1607 lchristie@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Cole, Daniel Adjunct Instructor of Voice dcole@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Coll, Karoly Travel and Finance Assistant 803-576-6374
Faculty Curry, Jerry Emeritus jcurrysc@gmail.com
Faculty Cutler, David Professor / Music Entrepreneurship 803-777-8361 dcutler@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Cuttino, Walter Emeritus
Faculty Davis, Ronald Professor / Tuba-Euphonium Associate Dean for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion 803-777-6059 rdavis@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Douglas, Samuel O. Emeritus 803-777-1607 sdouglas@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Earp, Caroline Development Coordinator 803-576-5763 EARPC@mailbox.sc.edu Development
Faculty Eller, Joseph Professor / Clarinet 803-777-4728 jeller@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Ernst, Sara M. Assistant Professor / Piano and Piano Pedagogy 803-777-1688 sernst@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Fang, Man Assistant Professor / Composition 803-777-1501 mfang@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Fife, Alexandra Administrative Assistant, USC Bands 803-777-4278 afife@mozart.sc.edu Bands
Faculty Fink, Matthew Adjunct Instructor of Music Theory fink0mw@gmail.com Music Theory
Staff Francis, Jeff B. Recording Engineer 803-576-5639 jfrancis@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Fugo, Charles L. Professor / Piano 803-777-7374 cfugo@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Garner, David Kirkland Assistant Professor of Composition and Theory 803-777-8365 dgarner@mozart.sc.edu David Kirkland Garner, composition, theory
Staff Gibson, Laveta Executive Assistant to the Dean 803-777-4336 lgibson@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Gibson, Michael Facilities Supervisor 803-777-4279 gibsonmo@mailbox.sc.edu facilities
Faculty Glass, Jabarie Associate Director of Choral Studies 803-576-7617 JABARIE.GLASS@sc.edu Jabarie Glass Choral Studies
Faculty Goodwin, Gordon (Dick) Emeritus 51fortepiano@gmail.com
Faculty Gowan, Andrew Emeritus agowan@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Graham, R. Douglas Emeritus dgraham@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Gray, Donald Emeritus 803-777-3531 dgray@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Hair, Traci Student Services Coordinator / Graduate Studies 803-777-4106 thair@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Hara, Kunio Associate Professor of Music History 803-777-2042 khara@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Harding, Tayloe Dean 803-777-4336 tharding@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Harley, Michael Associate Professor / Bassoon 803-777-4421 mharley@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Herring, Scott Professor of Percussion 803-777-2155 sherring@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Hill-LaRoche, Serena Instructor of Voice shilllaroche@mozart.sc.edu voice
Faculty Hopkins, Janet Associate Professor / Voice / Mezzo-Soprano 803-777-0772 jhopkins@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Hubbert, Julie Associate Professor / Music History / Core Faculty Film / Media Studies 803-777-3214 jhubbert@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Humbert-Hughes, Samara Director of Suzuki Academy of Columbia & USC 803-315-1345 humberth@email.sc.edu
Staff Jablonski, Jennifer Assistant Dean for Enrollment Management 803-777-6614 jjablonski@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Jackson, Sarah Assistant Director of Suzuki Strings at USC 803-777-5350 sjackson@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Jacobs, Aletha Director of Carolina Alive 803-777-1607 ajacobs@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Jacobs, Jay Associate Director of Bands / Director of Athletic Bands 803-777-9151 JJ42@mailbox.sc.edu Bands
Faculty Jenkins, J. Daniel Associate Professor / Music Theory 803-777-4708 djenkins@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Jesselson, Robert Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-2033 rjesselson@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Johnson, Birgitta Associate Professor / Ethnomusicology / African American Studies 803-777-8370 bjohnson@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Johnson, Jared Instructor / Organ jjohnson@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Kompass, Lynn Associate Professor / Vocal Coach 803-777-1739 lkompass@mozart.sc.edu
Staff LaRoche, Michael IT Support / Help Desk 803-777-0124 support@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Laffitte, Polly Todd Director of Development, School of Music 803-777-4337 laffitte@sc.edu
Faculty Leaman, Clifford Professor of Saxophone / Associate Dean / Director of Graduate Studies 803-576-5893 cleaman@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Ligon, Bert Professor of Jazz / Director of Jazz Studies 803-777-6565 bligon@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Lomazov, Marina Artistic Director, Southeastern Piano Festival and Guest Artist 803-777-4280 mlomazov@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Mitchell, Jennifer Assistant Director of Music Admissions 803-777-4281 jmitchell@mozart.sc.edu admissions
Faculty Mitchell-Spradlin, Tonya Assistant Director of Bands / Associate Director of Athletic Bands 803-777-1872 tmitchell@mozart.sc.edu band Band
Faculty Nagel, Rebecca Professor of Oboe / Associate Dean for Community Engagement and Experiential Learning / Director of the Spark Collective / former Director of Spark: Carolina's Music Leadership Laboratory 803-777-0194 rnagel@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Noon, Jannie Administrative Coordinator, USC Bands 803-777-9151 jnoon@mozart.sc.edu Band
Faculty Parker-Harley, Jennifer Associate Professor / Flute 803-777-4853 jparkerharley@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Peak, Mary Assistant Dean of Finance 803-777-5418 peakm@mailbox.sc.edu business
Faculty Portnoy, Donald Emeritus
Faculty Price, Scott Professor of Piano / Piano Pedagogy 803-777-1870 sprice@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Rackers, Joseph Professor of Piano 803-777-0083 jrackers@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Rattray, Sharon Staff Accompanist smrattray@earthlink.net
Faculty Rogers, John Fitz Professor of Composition 803-576-5753 jrogers@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Schlaefer, Ellen Douglas Associate Professor / Director of Opera Studies and Opera at USC 803-777-0058 eschlaefer@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Schlegel, Amanda Assistant Professor of Instrumental Music Education 803-777-1793 aschlegel@mozart.sc.edu instrumental music education
Faculty Shaw, J.D. Associate Professor of Horn 803-777-3195 jdshaw@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Smith, Lisa Administrative Assistant / Choral Studies / Opera 803-777-5369 lsmith@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Stallard, Tina Milhorn Professor of Voice / Soprano / Associate Dean / Director of Undergraduate Studies 803-777-0062 tstallard@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Streisfeld, Ari Assistant Professor of Violin and Violin Pedagogy 803-777-5000 astreisfeld@mozart.sc.edu violin, viola, pedagogy, ari streisfeld
Faculty Stuart, Greg Associate Professor, Experimental Music Performance/Music Literature 803-777-0227 gstuart@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Sweaney, Daniel Associate Professor of Viola 803-777-4114 dsweaney@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Terwilliger, William Professor / Violin 803-777-5702 wterwilliger@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Trenary, Jason Director / Information Technology / Adjunct Faculty 803-777-5360 jtrenary@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Valerio, John Instructor 803-777-1607 jvalerio@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Valerio, Wendy H. Professor / Music Education 803-777-5382 wvalerio@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Vaughn, Jeff Assistant Director of Spark 803-777-4006 jvaughn@mozart.sc.edu Spark
Faculty Walker, Alicia Director of Choral Studies 803-777-1406 awalker@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Weiss, Scott Sarah Bolick Smith Distinguished Professor of Music / Director of Orchestras 803-777-6251 sweiss@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Wilkinson, Michael Assistant Professor of Trombone 803-777-1869 mwilkinson@mozart.sc.edu trombone
Faculty Will, Jacob Professor of Voice / Associate Dean of Administration 803-777-1310 jwill@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Williams, John Emeritus jwilliams@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Williams, Paul Director of Piano Services 803-777-4392 pwilliams@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Williams, Sarah Associate Professor / Music History 803-777-1759 swilliams@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Woodoff, Ellen Public Information 803-777-1983 ewoodoff@mozart.sc.edu
Faculty Wyatt, Larry Emeritus 803-777-2454 lwyatt@mozart.sc.edu
Staff Zeigler, Margee Student Services Coordinator / Undergraduate 803-777-4335 mzeigler@mozart.sc.edu

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©