Skip to Content

School of Music

  • Freeman Sundays

Live-streaming Freeman Sundays at 3 Concert

Due to health concerns raised by the spread of COVID-19, for everyone's safety, no in-person audiences are allowed for indoor performances at this time. To keep the music playing for you, we will be streaming Freeman Sunday Concerts.

September 27, 3:00 p.m.
Live-streaming Freeman Sundays @ 3 Concert

Paul Hindemith - Symphony "Mathis der Maler" (arranged for piano four hands by Hindemith)
Lynn Kompass and Phillip Bush, piano

Ludwig van Beethoven - Trio in B-flat Major, op. 97 "Archduke"
Ari Streisfeld, violin; Claire Bryant, cello; Phillip Bush, piano

Buy passcode here.

You will be sent the concert live-stream link the day of the concert.
Adults $15; Students $5; Seniors/Military / UofSC Faculty & Staff $10

The opening program of the Freeman Sunday Concert Series continues UofSC School of Music's celebration of Ludwig van Beethoven's 250th birthday with a performance of his monumental "Archduke" Trio for violin, cello, and piano. Truly a symphony for three players, the "Archduke" revolutionized the piano trio genre when it was written in 1811 and pointed the way forward for all the Romantic period chamber music that followed throughout the 19th century.

The concert opens with Paul Hindemith's own arrangement for piano four hands of his Symphony "Mathis der Maler." The Symphony is based on music from Hindemith's opera by the same name ("Matthias the Artist") about the life of the 16th-century German Renaissance artist Matthias Grünewald. By telling the story of Grünewald's struggle for artistic freedom of expression under a repressive regime, Hindemith drew the ire of the Nazi regime in Germany. Soon afterwards Hindemith left his native country, eventually settling in the US and teaching for many years afterwards at Yale University. 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.