Skip to Content

School of Music

  • Freeman Sunday Concerts

Free Live-Streaming Freeman Sunday Concerts

As a result of the generosity of one of our donors, Freeman Sunday Concerts are now FREE to live-stream.


Live-streaming on October 25 at 3:00 p.m.

The UofSC School of Music Channel

The Program:
Ravel - Duo for Violin/Cello
Ari Streisfeld, violin; Claire Bryant, cello

Beethoven - Quintet, op. 16
Rebecca Nagel, oboe; Joseph Eller, clarinet; Michael Harley, bassoon; Dakota Corbliss, Phillip Bush, piano

The Freeman Sunday Concert Series presented by the UofSC School of Music continues on October 25 with a final salute to the 250th anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven's birth: a performance of his Quintet for Piano and Winds. This buoyant, exuberant work was an homage to Mozart's own Quintet of the same instrumentation, right down to the very key in which it is written. It is, quite simply, one of the happiest works in all of Beethoven's output.

The concert opens with Maurice Ravel's four-movement Sonata for Violin and Cello. It was written in the early 1920's and dedicated to the memory of Claude Debussy, who had died just a couple of years earlier. The Sonata shows Ravel moving away from the lush Impressionism of his younger years and exhibiting the influence of contemporaries such as the Hungarian composers Bela Bartok and Zoltan Kodaly (the latter of whom had just written his own duo for violin and cello a few years earlier). Ravel's Sonata is a virtuosic showpiece for these two instruments and quickly established itself as a staple of the violin-cello duo repertoire.

Due to health concerns raised by the spread of COVID-19, for everyone's safety, no in-person audiences are allowed for indoor performances at this time.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.