Skip to Content

Arnold School of Public Health

  • 2023 award winners

2023 Student Awards

The Office of Undergraduate Affairs is proud to announce the winners of this year's Outstanding Public Health Awards. Abby Berquist (B.A. in Public Health; pictured right) and Hannah Leili (B.S. in Public Health) are the 2023 recipients. 

Student  Award  About 
Abby Berquist Outstanding Public Health Bachelor of Arts Award: Abby Berquist Abby Berquist made the most of her time at USC, gaining experience with the Arnold Childhood Obesity Initiative as a research assistant and at the Center for Rural and Primary Healthcare as a Summer Fellow. After interning with the SC House of Representatives' Ways & Means Committees' Healthcare Budget, she was offered a full-time position as a research/budget analyst. She plans to advocate for fiscal policies that protect underserved groups from adverse health outcomes.  
Hannah Leili Outstanding Public Health Bachelor of Science Award: Hannah Leili With plans for a career in rural medicine, Hannah Leili amassed multiple experiences at USC. She was a member of the COVID-19 testing/tracing unit, SC DHEC's Ending the Epidemics Campaign and the Arnold Childhood Obesity Initiative. Leili also volunteered in rural Costa Rica and led HOSA-Future Health Professionals as president. As a physician, she'll use her public health background and Spanish language skills to bridge communication gaps and provide effective care.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.